Daryl’s Response – I think even I’m Team Daryl now!

This morning I woke up to a number of snapchats and messages and although I’d love to say that I wake up to that every morning, I knew that there must be some reason for so many of my friends getting in touch so early in the day.

The snapchats got opened first “You’re famous” read the tagline which made me slightly nervous. What had I done now?? Facebook was opened with nervous anticipation. I guess it could have been worse. 😉 Her.ie had picked up my last blog post for their Shifty First Dates feature. https://anitamaguire.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/irish-romance/

As the morning progressed, more of my friends got in touch to say that they had seen the post and by midday it had been shared almost 100 times in Ireland, yet I hadn’t heard from Daryl. This could only mean one of two things.

1. He’d seen the post and hated my guts – Noone could blame him if this turned out to be true

or

2. He was blissfully unaware that he had become somewhat of an internet sensation.

So I bit the bullet and sent him a text. He hadn’t seen it so I told him to open Facebook and unbelievably he was an extremely good sport!

As the day went on there was a public outcry – the likes of which had not been seen since Deirdre Rachid was wrongfully imprisoned in Coronation Street back in 1998. Everyone was Team Daryl!

I felt bad that Daryl had been thrust into the spotlight and was getting so much unsolicited attention without being able to respond to any of it without jeopardising his online anonymity.

So I decided to give Daryl the platform that he deserves to respond to my post and the result was beyond EPIC! I think it’s safe to say Daryl has well and truly mastered the art of poetry!! Here it is:

Response:

So I was there on me break, it was tea that I had,
When I got your wee text and I went fucking mad,

Now ya said I could curse when I write to you back,
So I’ll throw in a ‘fuck’ and a ‘shite’ for the craic,

But to say that I’m fine that my poem made your blog,
Would be telling a lie, cause I wimped like a dog,

And as lovely and all as the poem seemed to be,
I have to be sure that your readers do see,

That I don’t usually get soppy and and lovely and cringe,
But that poem was after a hysterical binge,

The wee poem could be proof that chivalry’s not dead,
And I will not be shamefully hanging my head,

Cause the fact of it all – nice guys do exist,
But for poetry like that, you need to be pissed,

And feb the fourteenth – very soon it will be,
I’ll probably be rotten and out of me tree,

But it’s best that we meet for a vodka or two,
Or Guinness, or whiskey or brandy will do,

So I’ll leave you with this as I finish this rhyme,
Cause I’m flowing with poetry of shite talking slime,

How shite would our lives be if we couldn’t admire
The genius wee blog posts from Anita Maguire,

Yours,
Daryl

Well played Daryl…….I think it’s safe to say that the first round is on me!!

2 thoughts on “Daryl’s Response – I think even I’m Team Daryl now!

Leave a comment